Stretching Back Into Your Routine

So, I’ve been out of being fit for a couple weeks now. For a week at least, I had the pleasure of receiving migraines every time my exercises became too strenuous. Fortunately, this healed. Unfortunately, this was immediately followed by the flu taking me out of the exercise game for another week at least.

This is the danger-zone. The point at which I could become so accustomed to not working out that I think, “I’ll be fine, I’ll just try to watch what I eat.” Basically, I would start to lie to myself. That’s not gonna happen again.

It’s very important to keep telling yourself that you will get back to your routine. It’s even more important to take that first step again. I still feel a bit of an after effect of having a cold in my sinuses  so I thought one more day before I go running and wind up with mucus all over my face (which makes it sound like I don’t know how to breath but still).

This didn’t mean that I wouldn’t do anything at all today. So, I stretched. I did my normal morning routine of getting my body a little loose. Sure, I wasn’t bench pressing 100kg but I damn well was doing something and that’s what counts. If I didn’t stretch, I would’ve found an excuse for tomorrow.

When I’m out of a routine for a while, I need to just get back into it. Trick myself, persuade myself, bribe myself; it doesn’t matter. What matters is that promise that I made, the one that everyone makes when they want to start working out.

“I’m gonna get in the best shape of my life.”

Leave a comment